jump to navigation

World Cup Winners 2006-07-20

Posted by clype in List.

The complete list of FIFA World Cup winners: West German Federal Republic (2), Argentina (2), Italy (2), Brazil (2), and France. In addition:

  • Jules Rimet Coupe du Monde Winners: Brazil (3), Uruguay, West German Federal Republic, & England.
  • Victory World Cup Winners: Italy (2) & Uruguay.
    Brazil (5),
    Italy (4),
    West German Federal Republic (3),
    Uruguay (2), Argentina (2),
    France & England.
  • FIFA World Cup South Africa 2010.

FIFA World Cup Germany 2006:
Winner: Italy (last won 1982);
Second: France.
FIFA World Cup Korea/Japan 2002:
Winner: Brazil (last won 1994);
Second: Germany.
FIFA World Cup France 1998:
Winner: France;
Second: Brazil (Holders).
FIFA World Cup United States 1994:
Winner: Brazil;
Second: Italy.
FIFA World Cup Italy 1990:
Winner: West German Federal Republic (last won 1974);
Second: Argentina.
FIFA World Cup Mexico 1986:
Winner: Argentina (last won 1978);
Second: West German Federal Republic.
FIFA World Cup Spain 1982:
Winner: Italy (last won 1938 Jules Rimet);
Second: West German Federal Republic.
FIFA World Cup Argentina 1978:
Winner: Argentina;
Second: Netherlands.
FIFA World Cup Germany 1974:
Winner: West German Federal Republic;
Second: Netherlands.

[Picture of FIFA world cup]The FIFA World Cup was designed by [Picture of world cup with silvio the designer]Silvio Gazzaniga and produced by Bertoni of Milan, Italy — it depicts two human figures holding up the world, weighs 6.175 kg in total, is 365mm tall and is made of 5 kg of 18 carat solid gold with a 130mm diameter base containing two layers of malachite and the English words “FIFA WORLD CUP”

The winning team/ country is engraved on the base underside in English. It is not known whether FIFA will retire the trophy after all of the name plaques at the base are filled in; this will not occur until after the 2038 World Cup.

FIFA’s regulations now state that the trophy, unlike its predecessor, cannot be won outright: the winners of the tournament receive it on loan for four years and receive a replica (gold plated rather than solid gold) to keep.

Jules Rimet Coupe du Monde won by Brazil outright (first to reach 3 wins).

Jules Rimet Coupe du Monde 09 Mexico 1970:
Winner: Brazil (last won 1962);
Second: Italy.
Note: Whichever team won this game would get to keep the Jules Rimet Coupe du Monde forever.

Jules Rimet Coupe du Monde England 1966:
Winner: England;
Second: West Germany Federal Republic.

  • Note: the Coupe du Monde was stolen, but found by a dog called ‘Pickles’ in a London garden

Jules Rimet Coupe du Monde Chile 1962:
Winner: Brazil (last won 1958 – holders);
Second: Czechoslavakia.

Jules Rimet Coupe du Monde Sweden 1958:
Winner: Brazil;
Second: Sweden.

Jules Rimet Coupe du Monde Switzerland 1954:
Winner: West German Federal Republic;
Second: Hungary.

Jules Rimet Coupe du Monde Brazil 1950:
Winner: Uruguay (last won 1930);
Second: Brazil.

  • ‘Victory’ World Cup officially renamed in 1946 as Jules Rimet Coupe du Monde

‘Victory’ World Cup France 1938:
Winner: Italy (holders);
Second: Hungary.

‘Victory’ World Cup Italy 1934:
Winner: Italy;
Second: Czechoslavakia.

‘Victory’ World Cup Uruguay 1930:
Winner: Uruguay;
Second: Argentina.

[Picture of the Jules Rimet World Cup]Designed by Abel Lafleur and made of gold plated sterling silver on a blue base of lapis lazuli, it stood 350mm high and weighed 3.8 kg It was in the shape of an octagonal cup, supported by a winged figure representing Nike — in Greek mythology, Nike (pronounced /’nike/ “NEE-keh”, meaning ‘Victory’), was a goddess who personified triumph and victory. She was capable of running and flying at great speeds, and was the sister of Cratos, Bia, and Zelus. Nike and her siblings were all companions of Zeus. Her Roman counterpart is Victoria.


No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: